Election Cheat Sheet

Everything you need to know in a nutshell

Related Links

Seven Candidates to Stand in Hammersmith

Who Wants to Be a Councillor in Hammersmith?

Politicians Flock to Hammersmith

Know Your Boundaries

Sign up for our free weekly newsletter

Comment on this story on the

If you have been living in a bubble for the past few weeks, happily ignoring all the election noise around you, here, in a nutshell, is what to do when you reach the polling booth.

1. Find your local polling station
Polling stations will be open from 7am - 10pm

2. Assuming you have already registered to vote, you will be given two ballot papers.

3. On the white ballot paper, choose ONE of these candidates to represent you in parliament:

Shaun Bailey (Conservative)

Andy Slaughter

Merlene Emerson (Liberal Democrat)

Rollo Miles (Green)

Vanessa Crichton (UKIP)

Stephen Brennan (Independent)

James Searle (BNP)

4. For the council elections, check which ward you live in.

5. On the yellow ballot paper, choose any THREE candidates from your ward to sit on the Borough council.

Candidates nominated for council elections

At 10pm, ballot boxes are sealed and taken to Hammersmith Town Hall for the count. If no recounts are necessary, the council expects to declare the two parliamentary seats of Hammersmith and Chelsea and Fulham by around 5am on Friday 7 May.

The count for the council elections will start at 10am on May 7 and results for each ward will come through during the afternoon.

May 5, 2010

Bookmark and Share