Big Changes Coming to Local Constituency Boundaries

Hammersmith to join up with part of Acton


Boundary Commission Consultation

Andy Slaughter

Angie Bray

Local constituency boundaries for the next election are set for big changes, following new recommendations from the Boundary Commission.

The plans, which will be subject to two years of consultation, are part of a move to cut the number of MPs by 50 to 600 by the next general election.

Our area of West London is facing major changes, with the Boundary Commission recommending the creation of a new Hammersmith and Acton constituency, which will include seven wards currently in Hammersmith - Addison, Askew, Avonmore and Brook Green, Hammersmith Broadway, Ravenscourt Park, Shepherd's Bush Green and Wormholt and White City - plus Acton Central, East Acton and Southfield, which are currently in the Ealing Central and Acton constituency.

Two wards at the southern end of Hammersmith, Fulham Reach and North End should join the Chelsea and Fulham consituency, which already includes the rest of Fulham.

The commission is also proposing to create a new Willesden constituency, which will include College Park and Old Oak, which is currently included in Hammersmith.

Angie Bray, the MP for the current constituency of Ealing Central and Acton says: " I would love the idea of being the single MP for Ealing which has a good ring about it.  But I would be sorry to lose a large part of Acton where I have got to know the community and many of the pressing local issues quite well over the past few years. 

"Southfield, the ward where I live, would also be put into the new Hammersmith and Acton seat and I am not at all sure that I would be delighted by the prospect of being represented by Andy Slaughter who I have known and crossed swords with many times in the past when I was his local GLA representative. 

'' Obviously none of this is yet finally decided and so I will continue to work as the MP for Ealing Central and all of Acton. "

Andy Slaughter, MP for the Hammersmith constituency, which currently includes all of Shepherd's Bush says: " The proposed changes announced in west London are bittersweet – while I will be pleased to be re-united with the wards in the London Borough of Ealing that I used to represent before the last general election, I shall be sorry to see Fulham Reach and North End, my old council ward, move out of Hammersmith constituency.

But remember: these proposals – assuming they do come into force – will not take effect for four years. I will continue to represent Hammersmith constituency as I have done since last year’s election."

The Boundary Commission for England reviews Parliamentary constituency boundaries every five years. The new constituencies are likely to be the ones used for the next election which is currently expected to be in 2015.

They are consulting on their initial proposals for a 12-week period, from September 13 December 5, 2011. They are encouraging everyone to contribute to the design of the new constituencies. There will also be public hearings to discuss the changes.

The London region comprises the 32 London boroughs and the City of London. The region currently has 73 constituencies but this will fall to 68 if the new proposals are adopted.

The consultation website is at

This contains reports and maps, the electorate sizes of every ward and an online facility where you can have your say on the initial proposals.

You can also contribute to the consultation by writing directly to: BoundaryCommission for England, 35 Great Smith Street, London SW1P 3BQ. Or email


September 14, 2011